Reflection

image
CT River from North End Bridge

Whenever I give a presentation, I like to think that I have a huge advantage over Microsoft employees and SharePoint consultants. In the first case, I can freely talk about the things SharePoint doesn’t do well, and the things I know it could do better. In the second case, I can talk about the things I don’t do well – I don’t have to try to impress you with my prowess so that you might hire me. I do sometimes worry that if my boss actually reads this blog, he might wonder “why the heck did I leave this bozo in charge,” but I recall that he was the first to identify the therapeutic effect of blogging, so he won’t hold it against me when I air the laundry.

The one consistent truth in systems development, ECM solution development or just about any development process that involves people is that things go off the rails from time to time. I have been building solutions that change the way people work for 35 years, and I have seen just about every reason why solutions fail, from sabotage to resistance at a level that would confound the Borg Queen. I’ve seen solutions that are as good as the technology would permit, as good as the budget would permit, and/or as good as the deadline would permit, but were still not good enough. I have also seen solutions fail because the infrastructure they were built upon evolved in a different direction. None of this is happening today in our case, because our system isn’t failing, and my experience tells me that it isn’t about to fail. Our system is just waiting to be “the way we do things.” Right now, we are still fighting the memory of “the way we’ve always done things” and that is one tough battle. You may have noticed that I haven’t described what went wrong to inspire this blog entry – it doesn’t matter. In fact, if I tell you the questions we were asking as this week ended, I’m sure you will recognize them:

  • What is so hard about this?
  • Why didn’t they tell us they were having this issue?
  • What made them think that (the workaround) would help?

Then we asked the most important question of all – why aren’t they learning how to work with this process?

When we build information management systems, we like to think that we are improving a business process. That’s a comfortable way of looking at development because it creates an abstraction layer between us and the people involved. Considering the business process allows us to ignore history; we don’t care why they “used to do it this way”, we just assume it was because they didn’t have our solution. We aggravate this situation by assuming that everyone wants every process to be as efficient as it can be. We know better. In reality, we are trying to change the behavior of a group of people, and in general, people don’t like change. When things start to go wrong though, we tend to skip past the abstraction layer and zoom in on the people involved. One of the common complaints that I hear about people, when I talk to others in this industry, is the so-called generation effect on technology adoption. People will talk about how much more willing younger people are to embrace new technology than the old guard employees they are being trained to replace. While there certainly are generational differences when it comes to affinity for technology, we also have to consider that new (younger) employees are learning the process and our solution at the same time. In the absence of a historic regimen, any solution that gets the job done has a certain appeal.

As we consider our final question, we have to consider the answers our users aren’t giving us. Nobody is going to just come right out and say “I don’t want my job to change,” but they don’t want their job to change. We can take the Borg Queen’s approach, and remind them that resistance is futile and that our solution is here to stay, or we can step back and look at the new solution from their point of view. How did the system we just build impact this person’s job? We tend to focus on the things we made easier, but did we make anything more difficult? Resistance is futile; in time, people will adapt their behavior to accommodate the requirements of the new process, but what if we missed something? What if that new process could actually be a little bit better? When we see people pushing back, instead of embracing our solutions, we need to try and discover the underlying reason – maybe it’s something we can fix.