My Thoughts Are Not Of SharePoint

Last week’s blog entry was written before the earthquake, aftershocks and tsunami waves struck Japan. In the week that followed, I haven’t given enough thought to SharePoint to conjure up 600 – 800 words that are worth sharing. My thoughts and prayers have been with the people of Japan, especially the plant employees, fire department, defense forces and other responders working tirelessly at the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear plant, and at the other nuclear sites affected by the natural disasters. In addition, I have a renewed appreciation, and respect for my coworkers, and the thousands of people in the nuclear industry in the U.S. and around the world.

If you are interested in how I am getting my news as these tragic events unfold, here is a short list of the sites I visit and the folks I follow:

NEI – the Nuclear Energy Institute. NEI is the policy organization for the nuclear technologies industry. They have been doing a great job covering this event, sifting through and adding clarity to the tons of information available. I follow NEI on Twitter too.

IAEA – The International Atomic energy Agency. High quality, accurate information about the events, the technology and the science surrounding this series of events. I also follow IAEA on Twitter.

Scientific American – A source of science news and information I have trusted since I was a teenager. I have subscribed to Scientific American during most of my life, I frequently visit their website and I folow them on Twitter at http://twitter.com/sciam.

@norishikata – The Twitter feed of Noriyuki Shikata, Deputy Cabinet Secretary for Public Relations, Director of Global Communications at Prime Minister’s Office of Japan. A great source for informative local insight to these events.

@PacificFleet – The Twiiter feed of the U.S. Navy’s Pacific Fleet. I began following @PacificFleet for first-hand information about relief efforts of the U.S. and Japanese navies.

World Nuclear News – A very good website for accurate information on the worldwide nuclear industry and the these events in particular. I also folow them on Twitter http://twitter.com/W_Nuclear_News.

Of course, every news organization large and small is covering these events. Read and follow whomever you prefer, but please take the time to follow-up on the hype, and check and recheck the facts before forwarding them to others. These events continue to change rapidly; it is difficult at best to know for certain what is happening on the ground in Japan.

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts Are Not Of SharePoint

  1. Thanks for sharing these links Dan. It’s a different world than what it was 25 years ago. It’s a much smaller world now and therefore many countries and communities are impacted by events that happen 5,000 miles away. I feel a little guilty saying this but many disasters do seem to unite people in so many different ways. It’s good to see technology play a positive role.

  2. Thanks for reading Mark, and for taking the time to comment. You are right about the way disasters unite us. I hope that means that our differences are only on the surface.D

Comments are closed.