This Place Has Everything

It started with lunch at the House of Blues in Downtown Disney. A few days later there was an endless Twitter exchange with my daughter of lines from the movie. Yes, “The Blues Brothers” has been on my mind lately. If you’re familiar with the movie, you recognize the title of this post from Jake and Elwood’s destructive cruise through the mall. The “place” I’m referring to is the SharePoint community and it does indeed have everything.

Let me share an example with you. Earlier this week I needed to attach a workflow to a survey and I quickly discovered that you can’t do that. I added that tidbit to the long list of things I don’t like about SharePoint surveys and decided to replace the survey with a Custom List. Then I remembered that the Column Name in a Custom List doesn’t wrap. If you think about it, for the Custom list to look like a survey, the question has to be the Column name. Otherwise the question would have to go under the answer field in the Description. But, if the Column Name doesn’t wrap, respondents would have to scroll side to side to complete the survey. Sigh… these are moments when I’m reminded that SharePoint’s potential often lies just beneath the surface.

I know enough about SharePoint to know that I wanted to change the CSS associated with the Column Name. I know I can do that a number of ways and I know that some of those ways are bad. A simple search for “sharepoint css wrap list column names” led me to the SharePointSolutions blog where I found an incredibly detailed description of the steps I needed to take.

If you follow this blog or read the Welcome message or you know that this is not a technical “how-to” blog. I want to focus on the ways SharePoint is used but sometimes, in order to use SharePoint we need to mess with it. Every time I need to mess with SharePoint, I find that someone has faced the same problem, solved it and taken the time to share the solution.

Today, I want to thank those people. From the Microsoft SharePoint team to SharePointSolutions to EndUserSharePoint and all the individual and company supported blogs I don’t have space to list. Thanks also to the people tweeting away, pointing us to outstanding or interesting blog entries and helping us stay sane by sharing their frustrations and discoveries. Add to the list the people who organize, make presentations at and report from events and user groups. All of you combine to make my life easier and I want you to know your efforts are appreciated.