Welcome

Welcome to SharePoint Stories, a blog about how SharePoint is being used in real life.

Several years ago, I gave a presentation at the AIIM Expo in Boston titled “SharePoint 2007 – Good, Bad & Ugly”. That presentation highlighted our experience migrating from SharePoint 2003 to SharePoint 2007. We made that migration as soon as MOSS 2007 was released and people seemed interested in knowing how that went for us. Since then, I have given other presentations at AIIM and other venues. I have received email from people who have attended these presentations and most of the email has been asking for more information about the specific ways we are using SharePoint to meet business needs.

There are hundreds of SharePoint blogs, most dealing with technical issues, specific features and techniques. I follow several of those blogs but I have not found many blogs that talk about the way SharePoint is being used. That’s what I hope to capture here.

For those of you who are familiar with me, you know that our organization is small but we use SharePoint in a big way. In addition, our small technical team does everything from selecting the hardware to administering SQL Server to building sites and training users. We manage an internal portal for our employees and an Internet facing portal for our business partners. We make use of a lot of SharePoint’s features and we see the whole picture but we are small. Some of the email I’ve received has been from people who administer test farms that are bigger than our entire installation.

I hope that we can share stories about the things that we are doing that work, the things that didn’t work as well as we planned and the things that have our users really excited. Like I said, we are small so if this blog is to be useful, it’s going to need input from you. Aside from the main focus of the site, I don’t plan to be overly prescriptive regarding content; I’d like to have content that people reading this blog want to see. That sounds like a simple enough goal, I hope it’s attainable and I hope you find this site useful.

So, what’s your story?

2 thoughts on “Welcome

  1. Hello there, simply become alert to your weblog thru Google, and fosbobetund that it’s really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels

Comments are closed.